Welcoming Two New Board Members

May 30, 2017 | 

Vermont Youth Conservation Corps is pleased to announce the addition of two new members of its Board of Trustees; Anne Adler of Stowe, and Benjamin Eastman of Huntington. Anne and Ben will join the rest of VYCC’s board in providing strategic direction for the organization, and serve in the invaluable capacity as VYCC ambassadors throughout Vermont and beyond.

Anne Adler, a graduate of Wheaton College and Boston College Law School, practiced securities law for 15 years. While raising five sons and a daughter, she did volunteer work and then was webmaster for an independent day school from 2002-2010, working with the communications, alumni, and development teams. Her volunteer jobs included serving on multiple boards, including being President/Board Chair of The Keewaydin Foundation based in Salisbury, VT.  She has also served on the parents’ boards of her children’s schools, the Junior League, and Women of Vision.

“It’s a very natural and welcomed progression for me to now be part of VYCC,” says Anne. “I am particularly impressed with the impact VYCC has on young people as they embark on their own life journeys.”

Ben Eastman, currently an Assistant Professor of Anthropology at the University of Vermont, is a cultural anthropologist whose research focuses on contemporary Cuba and Latin America. Ben first encountered VYCC while riding his bike past a crew in Jericho, and he immediately appreciated the intrinsic value of their work.

“I am more convinced than ever,” said Ben, “that beyond the impressive material productivity of trail and farm crews, it is the ethical aspects of the work in terms of how “personal responsibility” is also a social resource that is not only valuable but simply vital.”

“We are thrilled to have Anne and Ben join our board,” says Breck Knauft, VYCC’s Executive Director. “Both bring a deep appreciation for the value in investing in opportunities for young people and will help ensure the VYCC experience is possible for every young person and Vermont community.”

Adler and Eastman join current trustees: Jim Feinson (Chair), Matt Fargo (Secretary), Linda McGinnis, George Russell, Scott Weaver, Joe Fusco, and Mike Snyder (Ex Officio).  Bios of our trustees are available at www.vycc.org/about/board-members